Homeward Bound: Block #48

This block is a good test of your basic accuracy skills.

This block is a good test of your basic accuracy skills.

No need to paper piece this one! Just cut accurately and mind where your seams intersect. I cut my three colours into strips first, then cut the unit pieces off the strips.

As usual, I “assembled” the units in position on my sewing machine side design wall…that way you can sew the units together, put them back in position, and so on. This keeps you from sewing the wrong things together!

I had intended to make the centre square out of the background fabric, but in the end I went for the punch of cherry red. Below is a preview of what the block would look like with the background as the centre square.

Which do you prefer?

Now that I see them up as photos I think I should have gone with the background fabric as the middle square!

Previewing an alternate version.

Previewing an alternate version.

About westernwilson

I live in the Pacific Northwest, in Tsawwassen, BC, Canada, a small bedroom suburb of Vancouver, BC.

Leave a Reply

